Native Passiflora in my Grape Vineyard

Yes, I was crazy enough to plant some native passiflora vines in my grape vineyard.  These vines spread aggressively, so I hope I didn’t introduce a monster that will take over my grapevines.  But, as you can see in the photos below, the passionfruit vines are growing and are being productive.  Passiflora incarnata is also a preferred host for the Gulf Fritillary Butterfly (and caterpillar as shown).  The life cycle of this insect is described in more detail here: http://edis.ifas.ufl.edu/in804.  Even though there are several fruit on a couple of the vines, I hope for more in the next year or two so that I can better evaluate their growth and productivity.

Passiflora flower

Passiflora flower

Bees love to visit these flowers

Bees love to visit these flowers

Once flowers are pollinated, the fruit forms

Once flowers are pollinated, the fruit forms

Gulf Fritillary Caterpillar

Gulf Fritillary Caterpillar

 

2 responses

Leave a Reply

